Are items supported by other items fully supported by a goal box considered (transitively) fully supported by the goal box?
Yes, items fully supported by other objects that are in turn supported by a goal box get points, except in the case of a goal/bonus box supporting another goal/bonus box. In that case the supported items only get 1 point each per rule 7.e since they are not being supported by 1 goal or bonus box.
Can an end effector pick up a ping pong ball,that will be used for the final task,early in the run and place it in a holding position, (a cup or cradle) on the base of their robot?
The ping pong ball may be raised or moved at any time during the run in actions that are independent of the "separate, distinct, and FINAL action" of lifting the ping pong ball for the bonus points. However, in order for both the bonus and all other points to count, a distinct raising action must begin with the ball at the same elevation as it started the run at (ie, touching the ground). For example, the ball may be placed into a cup that elevates the ball by any amount at any time during the run, so long as the ball is removed from the cup and is touching the ground immediately before a distinct lifting action begins.
If adhesive is used to grasp a ping pong ball and some form of residue is left behind after the adhesive is removed post-run, does this qualify as damaging the ping pong ball?
Yes, if residue is still on the ball after you remove the adhesive the ball will not be usable by the next team fairly, therefore would be considered damaged. Note, you must be able to clean and return the ball to the event supervisor quickly to allow the next teams to run fairly.
It states that the last part of the run must be raising the ball, does that imply that ALL raising actions of the ball have to be at the end, or can it be raise throughout the run, as long as the last thing done before time is called?
If you raise the ping pong ball throughout the run, NO OTHER POINTS COUNT or NO BONUS POINTS ARE AWARDED! The wording is: " Raising the ping-pong ball must be the team's final task to receive the Bonus Points." The task begins when the ball starts rising and no other points can be scored, or the bonus does not count! It is a separate, distinct, and FINAL action. And rising stops when time stops.
May we use a robot arm kit such as the Science Kit Robot Arm?
Yes, the Science Kit Robot Arm (or any other Robot or its parts) may be used, but according to paragraphs 1. and 3.b., some design modification (technically one modification) must be made to be scored in Tier 1.
The description indicates that the students may test ONE device. If a team brings two discrete robot arms (no connection between them at all) that happen to fit in the designated area, would that be considered ONE device?
Yes, they will be considered one device at the National Tournament.
Para 1 gives the general requirements for the event. But Para 3 defines the specifications and limits of the device. Specifically, para 3 says ” Device includes the Arm(s), an optional permanently attached
Base..." para 3.a says "The Arm(s) may be attached to a Base..." and para 3.b says "...have any number of arms and joints."
This means that the device may have any number of arms and there is no need for a physical connection between them.
This section states "Ping-Pong Balls must remain undamaged", but does not indicate what penalty a team will receive if they damage a ping-pong ball. What penalty is to be imposed for violating this rule?
Damaging the ping pong balls would be a competition violation and result in the team being placed in tier 3 (see para 7.k.iii).
What consitutes damage to a ping pong ball?
Damage to a ping pong ball would be anything that physically changes the ball so that it is not suitable for fair use by the next team. Including, but not limited to: changing its shape, mass, structural integrity, surface texture, fill gas, etc.