Latest FAQ Entries http://www.soinc.org/feeds/latest_faqs Latest FAQ Updates en What is the correct usage of the stabilization sticks (i.e. door stop end bumper only, wood dowel end only, either wood dowel or door stop end, or does not matter)? http://www.soinc.org/node/1413 To correctly use the stabilization sticks, the door stop end bumper should be used to touch the bucket, not the wood dowel end. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:41:19 +0000 webmaster 1413 at http://www.soinc.org What is the correct usage of the stabilization sticks (i.e. door stop end bumper only, wood dowel end only, either wood dowel or door stop end, or does not matter)? http://www.soinc.org/node/1414 To correctly use the stabilization sticks, the door stop end bumper should be used to touch the bucket, not the wood dowel end. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:41:19 +0000 webmaster 1414 at http://www.soinc.org Technical Documentation examples are now posted on the website under Div. B - Robo Cross. http://www.soinc.org/node/1410 Examples of the technical documentation are now on the website under Div. B - Robo Cross. Illustrations may be in any form - photos, hand drawings, etc. Documentation must be clear and legible. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:32:14 +0000 webmaster 1410 at http://www.soinc.org Does "annotated" with reference to the commercially published resource include covering pages of the book with other printed sources of information? http://www.soinc.org/node/1411 No, you may not cover pages of the book with other printed sources of information. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:39:15 +0000 webmaster 1411 at http://www.soinc.org Does "annotated" with reference to the commercially published resource include covering pages of the book with other printed sources of information? http://www.soinc.org/node/1412 No, you may not cover pages of the book with other printed sources of information. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 19:39:15 +0000 webmaster 1412 at http://www.soinc.org The robot carries a container and some items are picked up and stored in the container. If the container is dropped on top of the bonus jug that is facing up, are the items in the container considered fully supported by the jug and are awarded 3x ... http://www.soinc.org/node/1408 If the container is fully supported by the jug, yes, the objects in it are fully supported by the jug. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:14:15 +0000 webmaster 1408 at http://www.soinc.org It says that the robot in the ready to run position must fit inside a 30 x 30 x 30 cm square. Does the robot have to be turned on while it is being measured? http://www.soinc.org/node/1405 Yes, ready to run means it is prepared for competition and can begin immediately after being measured without intervention from the competitors. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:01:45 +0000 webmaster 1405 at http://www.soinc.org Does the passive device need to start in the claw of the robot at the beginning of the competition or can it be placed in the robot starting box and picked up later in the competition? http://www.soinc.org/node/1406 No, it does not need to start in the claw. It does need to fit in the 30 cm box with the rest of the robot. The passive device will be considered part of the robot and scored as such if it is left in a different Zone than the Robot at the end of the competition. See Rule 6.a.v. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:08:53 +0000 webmaster 1406 at http://www.soinc.org If the objects are inside of the jug, but still attached to the the robot, will they count for points? http://www.soinc.org/node/1407 Yes. The key language in rules 6.b.ii and 6.b.iii is: "...in or fully supported by the Bonus Jug..." Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:13:06 +0000 webmaster 1407 at http://www.soinc.org Is a helicopter or other flying device a legal robot in this competition? In other words is it within the rules for a robot to be able to fly over the playing surface? http://www.soinc.org/node/1404 Yes, nothing in the rules says flying devices are not legal. This is all provided the robot is safe, still fits with a 30cm cube, and follows other associated rules. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 15:58:40 +0000 webmaster 1404 at http://www.soinc.org