Latest FAQ Entries http://www.soinc.org/feeds/latest_faqs Latest FAQ Updates en Regarding the use of electronics. Can an electric drill be brought to detach the weight and subsequently (after impound/before event) reattach the weight before launch? If so, does it need to be impounded? http://www.soinc.org/node/1740 <p>Yes a drill may be used as a tool and it does NOT need to be impounded. Please keep in mind that power outlets might not be available close to the competition area.</p> Thu, 11 Feb 2016 16:40:46 +0000 webmaster 1740 at http://www.soinc.org Regarding the use of electronics. Can an electric drill be brought to detach the weight and subsequently (after impound/before event) reattach the weight before launch? If so, does it need to be impounded? http://www.soinc.org/node/1741 <p>Yes a drill may be used as a tool and it does NOT need to be impounded. Please keep in mind that power outlets might not be available close to the competition area.</p> Thu, 11 Feb 2016 16:40:46 +0000 webmaster 1741 at http://www.soinc.org This rule says the difference between the ES's mass and the student's mass is to be scored. Rule 4 b. ii does not score the difference when student mass > ES mass. Which rule applies in that case? http://www.soinc.org/node/1739 <p>10 points is the maximum number of points. The masses will be confirmed by the event supervisor and points awarded based on their measurements. If the students mass &gt; ES mass, the team will score 10 points.</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 02:02:25 +0000 webmaster 1739 at http://www.soinc.org 3d states an 80cm cube may be used at "any orientation." This is not possible due to the furtherrestrictions in 4a. http://www.soinc.org/node/1734 <p>Correct, if teams choose to use the max 80cm size, they are then limited in the orientations they may place the device in. Smaller devices will have more possible orientations available.</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 01:08:01 +0000 webmaster 1734 at http://www.soinc.org If a team qualifies for 2 bucket shots, must the bucket shot be constant for both shots or could the event supervisor select different locations for each bucket shot? http://www.soinc.org/node/1735 <p>There is only 1 location for the bucket which is the same for all teams and all launches.</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 01:24:00 +0000 webmaster 1735 at http://www.soinc.org If a team qualifies for 2 bucket shots, must the bucket shot be constant for both shots or could the event supervisor select different locations for each bucket shot? http://www.soinc.org/node/1736 <p>There is only 1 location for the bucket which is the same for all teams and all launches.</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 01:24:00 +0000 webmaster 1736 at http://www.soinc.org The rules state that computers may be use as a source for information, so are tablets allowed to be used as replacements? http://www.soinc.org/node/1737 <p>Yes, tablets are included in the classification of a "computer".</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 01:29:29 +0000 webmaster 1737 at http://www.soinc.org 3d states an 80cm cube may be used at "any orientation." This is not possible due to the furtherrestrictions in 4a. http://www.soinc.org/node/1733 <p>Correct, if teams choose to use the max 80cm size, they are then limited in the orientations they may place the device in. Smaller devices will have more possible orientations available.</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 01:08:01 +0000 webmaster 1733 at http://www.soinc.org Is not having flight logs 30% deduction in score only or 30% deduction and tier/ranking issue? http://www.soinc.org/node/1738 <p>Not having a flight log is only a 30% deduction in score, it does not effect the tier.</p> Wed, 10 Feb 2016 01:47:46 +0000 webmaster 1738 at http://www.soinc.org Can we re-inflate the air chamber after launch (ie: soda bottle, when it's crushed) using ambient air, to go back to it's original shape, or does it need to re-inflate itself? http://www.soinc.org/node/1730 <p>Yes,you may re-inflate the air chamber provided the chamber is at ambient pressure at launch.</p> Sat, 30 Jan 2016 01:17:05 +0000 webmaster 1730 at http://www.soinc.org