Technology & Engineering Design Reveal Questions Bridges (Section: 6 / Paragraph: c / Sub-Paragraph: iii / Line: 1) 12/16/2022 Length requirements for the S-hook & chain are not given. Since the goal is to suspend the bucket from the chain creating enough clearance above the floor, can the S-hook, which holds the bucket handle at one end, be hooked onto "any" of the chain... Yes, S-hooks can be placed on any of the chain loops so that the bucket can be suspended approximately 3-6 inches above the ground. (Section: 7 / Paragraph: e / Sub-Paragraph: iii / Line: 1) 12/16/2022 Will the team be placed in Tier 3, in the case where the team attempts to place the Loading Assembly on their bridge (Section 5, II, c&d, 1) and the bridge undergoes some sort of breakage--rendering the bridge unable to hold the Loading Assembly, ... Yes, any Bridge that cannot hold the minimum load of 6.c Loading Assembly will be placed in Tier 3 as defined in 7.e.iii. Mass of the Loading Assembly is defined in 6.c.v. and may not exceed 1.5Kg. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: c / Sub-Paragraph: 1 / Line: 2) 11/04/2022 can the bridge hang over on the test supports? or is there a maximum limit for bridge length? Yes, the Bridge length must be greater than the span dimension and can hang over the far edges of the Support Blocks. There is no maximum length. Flight (Section: 3 / Paragraph: b / Sub-Paragraph: ii / Line: 1) 02/03/2023 Are ELGs allowed for this event? I realize if built properly the propeller-type aircraft will stay aloft longer, however as a backup can my team use an ELG? If so, will the elastic "motor" still be weighed separately before attaching to the hand-h... Yes Elastic Launch Gliders are permitted this year per rule 3.b. and 3.b.ii. The rubber "motor" for the launcher would need to be massed separately and comply with the rule 3.l. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: f / Line: 1) 10/07/2022 Are you allowed to deploy a parachute mid-flight, or would deploying a parachute change the flight configuration? No, Para 3.f requires the aircraft to stay in the same flight configuration throughout the flight as it left the box. Deploying a parachute would change the flight configuration violating that rule. (Section: 5 / Paragraph: iv / Sub-Paragraph: iv / Line: 1) 12/16/2022 Does timing of a flight continue after aircraft touches part of the building or object within building and continues flying? Per rule 5.e.iv. Timing stops when the plane hits the floor or gets stuck on something and is no longer remaining aloft under its own power. It is allowed to hit girders, basketball hoops, etc as long as it then continues to fly under its own power. (Section: 4 / Paragraph: c. / Line: 1) 02/03/2023 Please clarify that a single cover sheet attached to both the flight log and the design log as a single package of material meets the requirements of this Rule 4.c. as, this single cover sheet would effectively be the cover for both and "each" log... If both logs are submitted together in the same folder/binder/holder, then one cover sheet labeled for both logs would be sufficient. If two separate logs are submitted, then each log would need its own labeled front cover sheet. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: D / Line: 1) 02/03/2023 The dimensions of the box says 39 cm x 28.5 cm x 63 cm . is this length X width X height strictly or is this interchangeable? The dimensions are interchangeable. (Section: 5 / Paragraph: d e / Line: 5) 12/02/2022 The rules do not preclude any possibility that a student could use a device to increase their height that they could wear (like painting stilts) or bring (like a ladder) for the competition flights. Is this allowed? This would be a clear violation of General rule #1 due to the extremely unsafe nature of either of those activities, therefore, not allowed. Wheeled Vehicle (Section: 3 / Line: 1) 12/13/2022 Can the vehicle be assembled from a commercial kit? Yes. Students can use a commercial kit as long as the student(s) build the kit and the vehicle is not pre-assembled. Student will still need to complete the design log. Roller Coaster (Section: 3 / Paragraph: k / Sub-Paragraph: iv / Line: 2) 12/13/2022 "The two sections of track at the POI must TOUCH" If our track has two separate rails which the ball is rolling on, do the downward rails themselves at the POI have to physically touch the original upward rails of the loop? Yes, using the terminology in the question, the upward and downward rails must touch at the POI. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: g / Line: 1) 12/02/2022 3.g says "The Relative positions of the start line and the finish like must not change after impound"Is it relative position of Start or End Line to the floor or table? Or is relative position of start line to finish line or finish line to Sta... Once the device is leveled and in place to compete, the position of the start and finish lines relative to their place in space must not change. The should be marked on the device and not changed. Other parts of the device are allowed to be changed. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: G / Line: 1) 12/06/2022 Are the competitors allowed to alter the position of the Start Line or Finish Line relative to the device at ANY time AFTER retrieving the device from impound? Or are those intended to be fixed points? Teams are allowed to alter the start and finish line BEFORE they are given the target time, but not after knowing it. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: j / Sub-Paragraph: i / Line: 1) 02/01/2023 Does the ball need to land on a track that is horizontally *level* to the track it left, or can it land on a track that is placed higher than the track it left (as long as distance is measured horizontally)? Yes, it can land on a higher track and will be measured horizontally. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: k / Sub-Paragraph: ii / Line: 1) 12/02/2022 Does the requirement that the track not be fully enclosed (Rule 3.k.ii) only apply to loops? Outside a loop, the ball could be visible (Rule 3.c) inside a fully enclosed track (e.g. in clear tubing). The track is not allowed if it is enclosed, even if it is transparent. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: 1 / Sub-Paragraph: 1 / Line: 1) 12/02/2022 I do not see any specs regarding the materials used in the coaster. Does this mean that they are allowed to use pieces from manufactured kits, such as the JOYIN Marble Run kit? There are no specifications on the materials allowed in building the roller coaster. Pieces from manufactured kits may be used. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: k / Line: 1) 12/02/2022 If the track goes under another part of the track, will it be counted as a loop? No, that does not fulfill the definition of a loop. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: j / Sub-Paragraph: iv, vi / Line: 1) 12/02/2022 Is it required that a ball travel 5cm at the end of a gap in generally the same direction of travel? Can a ball land, travel <5cm, hit a wall (or vertical section of track), and continue traveling in a different direction? The ball must reenter the track and travel for a minimum of 5 cm. Please read rule 3.j i - vi for further gap guidance. (Section: 3 / Paragraph: 1 / Line: 1) 12/02/2022 Is the device allowed to use wire during construction? There are no specifications on the materials allowed in building the roller coaster, so wire would be allowed. (Section: 3 / Line: 2) 12/16/2022 It says "No added energy by use of stored potential energy is allowed (e.g. no springs, rubber bands, magnets, or elevators)".Is there any restriction on use one of these methods to slow and/or stop the ball. The sentence says "No added Energy". It does not specify where. So, don't use these objects, even if it to stop the sphere. (Section: 4 / Paragraph: a / Sub-Paragraph: ii / Line: 2) 12/07/2022 Shouldn't the gap and loop scores be recorded in the log in units of "points" (or possibly unitless), not centimeters? Rule 6.e and 6.f say the Gap Score and Loop Score are "[X] points for each whole cm". In your design log, just report the whole cm. for each. The event judge will record the points after measurement and a successful run. ‹ Technology Bridges ›